Fluxx Home

Product Description

How do you play?

FAQ

Links & Reviews

Testimonials

Buy it!


Official FAQ (Frequently Asked Questions) about Fluxx

This basic set of Questions and Answers appears on the back of the the rulesheet included in Fluxx 4.0 If you can't find your question answered here, there are a lot of other Fluxx FAQ pages at our wiki, and you should be able to find the answer there.


Q: What happens if I want to play a New Rule but there's already a New Rule in the center on the table? Does it replace the old New Rule, or do they peacefully co-exist?
A: It all depends on contradictions. There's no limit on the number of New Rules that can be in play at once, as long as they don't interfere with each other. If the New Rule you are adding has nothing to do with the existing New Rule, both rules remain. However, if both rules are about the same thing, for example how many cards to Draw, then the new card becomes the rule and the old rule is discarded.
 
Q: What if a New Rule, such as Play 3, contradicts the Basic Rules?
A: The New Rule still supersedes the Basic Rule, but the Basic Rules card does not get discarded. To help to avoid confusion, the New Rule can be placed to cover-up the portion of Basic Rules it replaces, as shown.
 
Q: What if the Rules require me to Play 4 but I only have 2 cards?
A: Play as many as you can. Your turn ends when you have no cards left in your hand, even if you are supposed to play more.
 
Q: Suppose the rule is Play 2 and for my second play I change the rules to Play 3. Do I play one more card or am I done because I played 2?
A: All rules take effect immediately, so you would need to play 1 more card because the rules at that point had become Play 3.
 
Q: How do I interpret the Play All card? If, by playing my cards, I receive more cards in my hand, do those new cards have to be played as well, so that I will always end up with zero cards in my hand at the end of my turn as long as Play All is on the table?
A: Yes.
 
Q: Suppose it's my turn, and the current Goal says you need 2 Keepers to win, and I have one of them, and someone else has the other Keeper on the table. Can I just grab it from him and win?
A: That would be cheating, unless you play the Steal Something Action card which allows you to do exactly that.
 
Q: If I play a Keeper, and I already had a Keeper, do I have to discard the first one to play the new one? Is there a Limit to the number of Keepers I can have in play?
A: You can have as many Keepers in front of you as you want, unless a Keeper Limit rule is played. Even then, you can play as many Keepers during your turn as the current Play rules will allow, and only decide which ones to keep and which ones to throw away (so as to comply with the Keeper Limit) when your turn is over.
 
Q: Suppose there's a Hand or Keeper Limit rule in play when my turn begins, but, during the course of my turn, the limit card is removed and discarded as a result of another Rule card or Action card. Is it still necessary for me to discard down to the limit that is no longer in play?
A: Nope! Just as Rules take effect immediately, their effects also cease the moment the rule disappears.
 
Q: Is there a Creeper Limit? Do Creepers count towards the Keeper Limit?
A: No and No. Creepers aren't limited and do not count as Keepers.
 
Q: How do you get rid of Creepers?
A: It depends on the situation. Oftentimes, you'll have no choice but to keep them, but there are many ways for you to either discard them or move them to another player, via Actions, New Rules, or the fine print on certain Keeper cards. But sometimes you're better off keeping your Creepers ­ while they usually stop you from winning, there are times when the Goal will require a Creeper. Maybe the rules will change so that Creepers don't prevent victory, or perhaps another player will smite your Creeper for you. But sometimes, you just have to be patient, and wait for things to change.
 
Q: If I have a Creeper that says "You cannot win if you have this card unless the goal says otherwise," and I have everything the Goal requires including a specific Creeper, but I also have some other Creeper not mentioned on the Goal, do I win or not?
A: No, you wouldn't win in that situation until you got rid of (or otherwise neutralized) that other Creeper.
 
Q: Does a Hand Limit mean "hold the limit number, unless you already have fewer cards, in which case hold that lower number"?
A: Yes. It's not a quota that you must draw up to in order to meet, it's simply a cap on the number of cards you're allowed to hold.
 
Q: When discarding cards because of a Limit rule, do you get to choose what to discard, or is it random?
A: You get to choose.
 
Q: Can you use the "Trash Something" action to discard one of your own Keepers (or Creepers)?
A: Yes.
Q: If someone plays the Double Agenda rule card, which permits two goals, does the next card played need to be a Goal?
A: No. There's no hurry about adding a second Goal just because the rules allow it.
 
Q: What happens if there are two Goals in play and someone gets rid of the Double Agenda rule?
A: The player who caused the Rule to go away gets to choose which Goal to discard and which one to keep in play.
 
Q: Do I get to play any cards or take any actions when it's not my turn?
A: When it's someone else's turn, there's not much you get to do -- there are no cards you can play out of turn. But you will sometimes need to make minor decisions and perform card maintenance during other players' turns. For example, if someone plays a Hand Limit and you have more cards in your hand than are allowed, you'll need to decide what to keep and what to discard.
 
Q: If I have zero cards at the start of my turn and then I play the No-Hand Bonus rule, do I get 3 extra cards, or is that only for the next player actually starting to play with the No-Hand Bonus rule card already on the table?
A: It's that second thing you said. Since the rule only applies at the very beginning of a turn, the person who plays this rule has to wait.
 
Q: If the Trade Hands card is played and the rest of the players have no cards, is that player required to give away the rest of his cards for nothing in return or is the action optional?
A: If you play the card, you have to carry out the action, so yes, you'd have to give away the rest of your hand and get nothing in return if everyone else is empty handed. It says on the card, "This is one of those times when you can get something for nothing." Well, it's also a time when you give something away and get nothing back!
 
Q: Suppose I play Draw 2 and Use 'em and I draw two Goals, and one of them will cause my opponent to win. Can I play the two Goals in instant succession, with the one that doesn't make them win on top, so that they don't get to win?
A: No. Any time a Goal is played, it provides a chance for someone to win with those conditions. No matter how briefly that Goal is in play, it counts, and if someone meets the conditions in that instant, they win.
 
Q: If you play Use What You Take and pull a Keeper, do you use it on the person you took it from or does it go in your own Keeper collection?
A: YOU play the card you stole, so you get to keep the Keeper.
 
Q: Can you combine this game with other versions of Fluxx?
A: Yes, but it can be tricky now that Fluxx is available in so many flavors (like EcoFluxx, Zombie Fluxx, and Monty Python Fluxx). The cardbacks are always the same, suggesting that different versions can all be combined; but matching backsides doesn't always mean the fronts will play nicely together. Some Rules may contradict each other without saying so, and certain Goal cards may become impossible or nonsensical. Rather than making a deck too big to shuffle, we suggest adding just a few of your favorite cards from one version to another. Also available are Fluxx Blanxx, which you can use to add in your own ideas, including new connections between cards from different editions. So be creative, have fun, and don't forget to playtest!
 
Q: Can you answer more of my questions on the internet?
A: Yes! Please visit LooneyLabs.com for the latest FAQ updates!


News

Search

Gift Shop

Games

About Us


http://www.wunderland.com | contact us
Last Modified: Oct 31 2014 at 20:46