Each player chooses a home continent and is
issued nine pyramids (three of each size) of the color most similar
to the colors of their continent.
Place three pyramids (one of each size) onto
the three territories of your continent. Only one piece may ever
occupy a territory.
Roll dice to see who will go first. Players
add their pyramids to the board in turn order.
Perform one of these turn options each turn:
- GROW: Increase
the size of one of your pyramids by replacing it with the next
larger size, if one is available. You can only do this to a piece
on your own continent.
- BUILD: Place
a small pyramid of your color (if available) into an empty territory
within your own continent.
- MOVE: Transfer
one of your units to an empty territory that it is connected
- INVADE: Attempt
to enter a connected enemy-held territory by using combat.
- Begin by placing the piece you are attacking
with on its side, pointing at the territory you seek to move
- Battles are resolved with the two players
rolling dice. The number of dice you roll is the same as the
number of pips on your piece.
- If the attacker fails to get a better total
dice roll than the defender, the battle ends and no pieces are
moved. Ties go to the defender.
- If the attacker wins, the loser must flee
into an empty, adjoining territory of their choice, while the
winner's piece is moved into the disputed zone.
- If (and only if) there is no available territory
for the loser to retreat to, then their piece is reduced in size
- If a piece must shrink but there's no piece
available of the size needed, the piece shrinks to the next smallest
size. Smalls are destroyed.
- If a player is eliminated, all pieces of
that color are immediately removed.
- After resolving combat, stand your piece
You win if all three territories in another
colored continent are occupied by pieces of your color -- provided
you also have at least one piece of your color in your home continent.
- Designed by: Andrew
- Inspired by: Risk
- Playtested by: Kristin,
Alison, Shel West, Robin Vinopal, the Wunderland Toast Society
- Q: During setup,
does each player put their pieces out one at a time, or all 3
- A: Unless it's
a tournament or the players are super-competitive, player can
put all three of their pieces onto their territories as one step.
But if Death is on the line, players should take turns first
placing their smalls, then their mediums, and lastly their larges.
- Q: Suppose
a player who controls 2 sectors of a foreign continent mounts
a successful attack on the third, allowing them to move in and
claim victory. However, the loser also controls 2 sectors of
a different foreign continent. They retreat to the empty sector
and claim victory. Is this a tie? Who wins?
- A: As in Treehouse,
if two players meet the victory condition at the same time, then
the player whose move caused win is the winner.
- Q: If a small
piece with no escape is attacked and beaten, and therefore removed
from the board, does the attacking piece take the newly vacated
space? The rules says that for attacks with no retreats, "the
attackers piece does not move."
- A: Unfortunately,
that rule is unclear. If the space is vacated, then the attacker
gets to move in, regardless of why the space became empty.
- Q: All the
board spaces for World War 5 connect to exactly 5 other spaces
with the exception of "USA" and "Western Europe,"
which each connect to six; and "Alaska" and "Scandinavia,"
which each connect to four. Now, to make the board perfectly
balanced, the only thing that would have to be done is remove
the connection between USA and Western Europe and add a connection
between Alaska and Scandinavia. Was there a design reason behind
this single imbalance?
- A: Drawing
that connection would have required a difficult-to-squeeze-on
polar route, and after plenty of playtesting, Andy came to the
conclusion that this tiny imbalance doesn't really matter. The
key thing is the equal number of international connections, which
is nine for all six continents. The fact that two of the continents
have a bottleneck is compensated for by the matching floodgate,
so that it makes no real difference.
- Q: Why can't
5 or 6 people play?
- A: Well, technically
they can, since there are starting continents and pyramid colors
available for that many players. However, without a couple of
empty continents to fight over, someone must be eliminated from
the game before anyone has a chance of winning, which makes for
a longer game and therefore isn't recommended.